Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 2nd, 2013

Goodbye 2012

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?

I finished incubating and expelling a human being from my body. I had major abdominal surgery, in the form of an unplanned c-section that contributed to my first overnight hospital stay. I spent a good part of the year tied to a breast pump, which was an accomplishment all by itself because making and extracting milk from your boobs is not as easy as human history would lead you to believe (or even possible, if you’re a dude). I bathed a baby for the first time – and many, many times after that. I also picked someone else’s boogers (my baby’s).

To put it simply, I became a mom.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


My resolution last year was to just “do more.” But the problem with making such broad declarations is that it’s nearly impossible to measure your success. I’d like to think I accomplished this goal, but if I did, it was only circumstantial because preparing and caring for a newborn baby doesn’t allow you to relax. Between the baby classes, the nursery decorating, the baby showers, the actual birth, and the sleepless days and nights to follow, you have no choice but to do more. So yes, I guess I did keep my resolutions.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


Can’t get much closer than ME.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Sadly, this streak has been broken. One of my three favorite people in the entire world, my grandpa, passed away at the end of June. Just four short weeks after baby D was born. I’m so glad they were able to meet, however briefly, but I’m sad that he’s not here to watch him grow into a tiny little person.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. Though I did take trips to Ft. Lauderdale and Chicago (and two work trips to Dallas and Austin that I don’t really count).

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you lacked in 2012?

Last year I wrote: A healthy baby, a promotion at work, a work-from-home husband, a new SUV.

I’m still lacking that promotion at work (though I did get a decent raise) and a new SUV. I’m hopeful that both will happen this year. I’d also like to see a smaller pants size.

7. What dates from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

May 27 – My 30th birthday.

May 30 – The day baby D FINALLY made his way into the world.

June 27 – The day my grandpa passed away.

Aug. 1 – The day my husband resigned from his corporate job and became a work-from-home dad.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


Stepping into motherhood with greater ease than I anticipated. And actually ENJOYING it.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I wish I would’ve tried harder at nursing. I did WAY more work than necessary by pumping for every feeding. It got the job done, and my baby had breastmilk 90% of the time, but I didn’t realize how much harder it would be to pump vs nurse. Newsflash: MUCH harder.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Recovering from the c-section was harder than I thought it would be. This is a big reason why I gave up nursing so easily. I just didn’t have the patience to force it when I could barely walk or move my midsection. Other than that, no illness or injury.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Something baby-related, I’m sure. I can’t remember when I bought my DSLR, but that definitely goes on the list.

12. Where did most of your money go?

Same as last year: Mortgage, cell phone bills, gas, eating out.

And add to it: baby things and a couple of car repairs.

13. What did you get really excited about?

My baby showers, finishing the nursery, having the baby, and then all of those first milestones – first smile, first laugh, first Halloween, first Thanksgiving, first time sitting up, first Christmas, sleeping through the night, etc.

14. What song will always remind you of 2012?

Also, Some Nights by FUN and Payphone by Maroon 5. Oh and Gagnam Style and Call Me Maybe, of course.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:


– happier or sadder? Both, if that’s possible. I’ve felt extreme happiness and sadness this year, but overall, I would say I’m happier. I just really miss my grandpa.
– thinner or fatter? Fatter. But hopefully by this time next year, my answer will be different.
– richer or poorer? I can’t honestly remember what my bank account looked like at this time last year. Probably about the same.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?


Exercise, eating healthy, and perhaps spend more time with my grandpa. Had I known he’d be diagnosed with terminal cancer just a few months into the year, I would’ve spent every free moment with him.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?


Less eating foods that are terrible for me and less wasted time on social media

18. How did you spend Christmas?

Like this.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

New Girl, Modern Family, The Big Bang Theory, and Revenge

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

Admittedly, I haven’t done a ton of reading this year. I read “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened” by  blogger Jenny Lawson on the iPad while on maternity leave. Perfect for those middle of the night pumping and feeding sessions. I attempted to read Fifty Shades of Gray, but after one chapter I lost interest and haven’t tried again. Most of the time, I spend my free time reading pointless stuff on social media, keeping up on my favorite blogs, reading What to Expect – the First Year, or US Weekly.

21. What was your favorite music from this year?


I used to pride myself on keeping up with good music, always on the hunt for a new favorite song. For the last couple of years, I’ve downloaded maybe a dozen songs total. The husband is the DJ of the house now, which isn’t saying much. Basically, I don’t have any favorite music. I listened to the radio a lot over the holidays, but that was just so I could hear my classic favorites. The rest of the time? Well, let’s just say it’s not uncommon for me to spend my 25 min. commute in complete silence some days. And I haven’t streamed music at the office since probably before the baby was born. I’m just that boring, I suppose.

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

 The last movie we saw before the baby was born was The Avengers. Since? Well, we saw Lincoln over Thanksgiving. I wouldn’t rank either of those very high. I’d have to say The Hunger Games.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned the big 3-0. And since my due date was one day before my birthday, we didn’t make any real plans. My husband gave me a gorgeous Tiffany necklace, we got some new patio furniture, and my parents took us out to eat at my favorite restaurant where I ate the most delicious seafood risotto of my life.

You can read the blog post about it here.

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

If my grandpa hadn’t died, then this year would’ve been the best year ever. So much joy, but overshadowed by one really big loss.

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?

Comfortable, simple, solids.

26. What kept you sane?

My husband wins the award here again this year. And when I thought I might crack over losing my grandpa, my baby kept me sane, as did my cousin Krissy. And though my mom has struggled since, she definitely held it together when grandpa was dying, and did her best to care for him while awaiting a new grandbaby. It was a trying year for my family, but I think together, we helped keep each other sane.

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.


Bad things will always happen, but you shouldn’t live your life in fear of them. Surround yourself with the people and things that make you happy, be kind to others, and let the rest go.

Read Full Post »