Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 7th, 2013

40 to Fit

I’m going to start documenting a bit of my weight loss journey here. I’m calling it “40 to Fit” because, well, I have 40 lbs to lose. I’m doing Weight Watchers online, so I’ll share updates and recommend recipes and other foods I find and love.

I signed up for WW a few days before the end of the year but didn’t actually start following the program until Jan. 1, which was a Tuesday. I prefer to do my weigh-ins on Sunday, so I’m cutting myself a couple of days short this week, but that’s okay.

Week 1: -2.4 lbs
Total lbs lost: 2.4 lbs
Lbs to go: 37.6 lbs

So far, I’m off to a good start. I even walked away from several temptations this week – salted caramels, Reese’s PB cups, mini-Oreos, and potato chips. Sometimes my office can be a dieter’s death trap. But the hardest thing so far has been adjusting my morning coffee. I’m a cream and sugar kind of gal, so I’m trying to cut back on the amount of sugar in my diet, but I know the sugar substitutes aren’t any better for me. I experimented with a few alternatives this week. The first day I tried 2 packets of Truvia and hated the taste. I didn’t even finish my coffee. The next day I did just one packet and a little unsweetened almond milk. Still didn’t like it. The next day I used the leftover almond milk from my bowl of chocolate cheerios cereal and that was still pretty terrible. On the fourth day, I just caved and added a tablespoon of regular sugar, feeling like the points were worth it, but still feeling guilty for losing my willpower. Finally, I went to the grocery store and purchased Coffee Mate’s Natural Bliss refrigerated vanilla creamer, low-fat. Two tablespoons are 1 pt, but it’s all natural and less sugar than I would usually use. MUCH better taste.

As for the “Fit” part, I haven’t started that yet. I know myself, and I know that too much pressure to diet AND exercise means I’ll be throwing in the towel on both by the end of the second week. So I’m taking it slow, cutting myself some slack, and just reminding myself that this journey is a marathon, not a sprint.

Got any favorite healthy foods or recipes? Let me know! I’m relying on Pinterest and Hungry Girl to help get me through this.

Read Full Post »