Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 14th, 2013

One of my absolute favorite foods is pizza. Deep dish, thin crust, hand-tossed, New York style, frozen pizza, delivery, Pizza Hut, Domino’s – whatever. I love it all. Unfortunately, pizza loves me back and insists on sticking to my hips, thighs, butt, belly… I’d say that at least a few of the extra pounds I’m carrying around could be attributed to pizza alone. That’ s how much I love it.

Frozen pizza had become a bit of a default for lazy days at my house. It’s one of those staple grocery items we almost always pick up because it’s perfect for lunch or dinner. Just throw it in the oven and 20 minutes later, a tasty meal with almost zero mess. Forget to defrost something? Pizza. Need to run errands after work and not enough time to make something for dinner? Pizza. Lazy weeekends at home? Pizza.

But now that I’m on Weight Watchers, I can’t eat that crap anymore. And to be quite honest, frozen pizza leaves me feeling rather unhealthy afterward. I even got food poisoning from a frozen pizza once. That stuff is NOT good for you. But good news!! I found an alternative that’s super filling, healthier, and takes even less time to make.

Introducing the flatbread pizza (9 WW pts):

IMGP5433

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m no food photographer, but that’s a pretty big plate and just look at how big it is!

So here’s what you need:

  • FlatOut flatbread Spicy Italian (Warning: the Spicy Italian is pretty spicy so if you wouldn’t normally put red pepper flakes on your pizza, get the original kind)
  • Pizza sauce (or marinara sauce)
  • Turkey pepperoni
  • Mozzarella & Parmesean cheese
  • Additional veggie toppings optional

Preheat oven to 350. Put the flatbread in the oven on a baking sheet or pizza stone for 3 or 4 minutes. Pull it out, put on the sauce, then your toppings, then sprinkle with Mozzarella and Parmesean. Put it back in the oven for about 10 minutes and presto. Delicious pizza for WAY less calories and fat. Just one of these is enough to fill me up for the meal, but my husband likes to add a side of baked chips.

IMGP5435

Yum.

Now, for anyone else on WW, I know 9 pts sounds like a lot. But when you consider serving size and compare to other pizzas, you’re getting a lot more bang for your points with this pizza. Just one slice of restaurant style pizza is 8 pts and I don’t know about you, but one piece of pizza does not fill me up. Nor can I just eat one slice of pizza with SO MANY MORE SLICES sitting there in front of me. It’s impossible.

Read Full Post »