Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 6th, 2009

Beautiful Barcelona

I had every intention of going to the gym tonight, but I woke up early this morning around 3 a.m. with a sore throat so painful that there was no spot in my throat that did not ache. So also? My inner ears hurt too. That’s what pain does. When it runs out of room in one place in your body, it spreads to the next available space. Suffice it to say, I have caught the cold that seems to be making its way across the country.

So instead of the gym, I opted for the opposite: a little comfort food from Steak ‘n Shake and a date with my couch. My couch wanted to watch some typical dude movie with guns and cars and extravagant (read: completely unrealistic) fight scenes and lesbian action. I wanted to watch Friends re-runs. We compromised and watched “Vicky Cristina Barcelona.” How is this compromise? Well, Vicky and Cristina are best friends spending their summer in Barcelona and there’s some hot lesbian action. So there ya go.

Anyway, the movie took place, per the obvious title, in Barcelona. And for those of you who read this blog back in the fall, you’ll remember this post about my brief time there since it was our port of departure for our Mediterranean cruise. As I watched the movie, I saw so many places I recognized. They even show a clip of the random people in the streets dancing with their giant sparklers. At the time, we had wondered if it was some sort of special holiday to warrant such festivities and fireworks, but apparently this is just how they celebrate Saturday nights during the summer. And I think that’s pretty rad.

So the movie made me more than a little reminiscent of my new favorite city (recently replacing my previous favorite city: New York) so I booted up the laptop to review my old posts. It didn’t take me long to remember that, hey, I forgot to tell you guys about the rest of our trip. I told you about Barcelona, Malta, and Naples, but I never did tell you about Rome, Florence or Nice. That’s half the trip right there! So I’m going to get on that. Right after I get over this cold and look at some pictures of Barcelona.

This is what they do. I shit you not.

The nightlife is amazing. Like Miami, but a bit…slower. More my speed.

img_0075

This one is bigger because it’s actually mine.  La Rambla is the equivalent to Chicago’s Michigan Ave.

If you care to share, tell me about your favorite city and why it’s your favorite.

Read Full Post »