Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 2nd, 2009

Celebs and Twitter

Just before the weekend commenced, a big hullabaloo was happening on Twitter when word about Ashton Kutcher (@aplusk) and Demi Moore’s (@mrskutcher) Twitter feeds started spreading like wildfire. I checked out Ashton’s page and noticed that the night before, he got into a little tiff with Perez Hilton (@perezhilton)  over Perez’s constant insults of Ashton’s step-kids. I silently cheered Ashton on. Since I started following them just a few days ago, their followers have grown by the thousands. I just thought it was pretty cool that even certain celebs are tech-savvy. It somehow made me feel less geeky.

On Sunday, as hubby and I drove around running errands before the Super Bowl, I checked Twitter from my iPhone and saw some updates from Demi. I started to think: If all the major celebs were active Twitter users, it would put the tabloids out of business. Think about it. Wouldn’t you rather hear what a celeb is doing first-hand rather than read some paparazzi account of what they were doing accompanied by some shitty photograph where they have their hand in front of their face?  I know I would. Of course I would still buy magazines like People for the interviews, the red carpet photos, and commentary on the best/worst dressed, etc. But the stalker photos? I could do without those.

So Ashton and Demi, get all your other famous friends on Twitter and let’s start a movement. If you can get Brangelina on Twitter, I will personally pledge to never buy another tabloid magazine again.

Other, non-A-list celebs on Twitter are probably noticing a slight boost in their suffering careers. Or at least keeping their names out there (yeah, I’m looking at you @freddurst and @mchammer). Some of my own personal faves: @elijahwood (my teen crush) and @davejmatthews. Now if only John Stamos would sign-up…

If you’re on Twitter and want to see a list of more celebs using Twitter, check out this article. Oh yeah, and you can find me at http://twitter.com/missliz27. Tweet ya later!

Read Full Post »