Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 1st, 2009

December

I love this month. It’s the one month out of the year when I actually look forward to the cold weather and all it brings:  flannel pajamas, fuzzy slippers, hot chocolate, warm soups, colorful sweaters and scarves, leather boots, and maybe even snow. Of course, we can’t forget the biggest holiday of the year – Christmas!  Just some of the things I’m looking forward to this month:

Christmas movies – Home Alone, Christmas Vacation, The Grinch, Charlie Brown Christmas, Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, Frosty the Snowman, Scrooged, A Christmas Story…I plan to watch them all!

Cookies – I already have an afternoon of baking planned with my good buddy Nora and hope to make several batches of delicious treats that I can give out to neighbors and co-workers.

Christmas Parties – I’m only planning to go to two different Christmas parties, but both should be a blast!

Christmas Lights – So many people in our neighborhood already have their lights up (us included) and Sunday night on our way to pick up take-out, the hubs and I spent a few minutes driving around the subdivision checking out everyone’s light displays. Christmas lights make me happy.

Sending Christmas Cards – I LOVE sending Christmas cards and made sure to buy my holiday stamps early this year before the post office runs out (which always seems to happen to me).

Shopping – I’m not usually much of a shopper. I hate the mall and especially hate buying things for myself that isn’t a necessity (think laundry detergent, toothpaste, soap) but there’s just something about the hunt for that perfect gift for someone you love. Even better if you get a great price!

Wrapping – I wrap ALL the presents for both sides of the family with the exception of the gifts my husband gives to me. I’m not super fancy with ribbons and DIY bows, but I love the smell of fresh wrapping paper and scotch tape. Is that weird?

Family Time – This month we’ll spend time with almost everyone from both sides of our family. Though Christmas Eve and Christmas Day will be spent at my in-laws, we’ll have fun just like we do every year watching all of our nieces and nephews tear open their gifts, leaving the house in wall-to-wall wrapping paper scraps.

Getting reacquainted with the gym – Even with all the stuff that’s going on, I’m making more of an effort to use my costly gym membership and get a head start on all those New Year’s resolution makers.

What are you looking forward to this month?

Read Full Post »