Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 22nd, 2009

Thoughts About Showers

The thing I hate most about traveling? Showering at other people’s houses. I hate it. No, I LOATHE it. Especially at my in laws because the shower door was installed backwards and so to turn it on, I have to step into it, turn the knob and jump back out before my entire body is doused with freezing cold water. Of course, I’m never fast enough so my right arm always gets soaked up to my shoulder. I hate that.

This year will be my 5th Christmas at my in laws and though I come fully prepared, knowing all the weird nuances of their house (for example; the bathroom sink knobs were put on backwards, so the “hot” is cold and the “cold” is hot) that cold blast of water from the shower is something I’ve never been able to get used to.

I wonder how many days of not showering it would take before someone would notice the smell? Or, more importantly, before someone would have the nerve to say anything about the smell? This brings up an interesting thought: do you think stinky people know they stink but are just testing the rest of us to see who has the nerve to say something about it? And how stinky does one have to be before they are questioned/told?

And these are the thoughts that enter my mind around midnight, after a VERY long day of traveling, a couple glasses of wine, and yes, a nice long shower, complete with cold water intro blast. Happy Christmas.

Read Full Post »